The boy behind the camera: Richard Ramirez Jr.

Oane day I was wandering on flick and I stumbled upon these beautiful photos. I could not stop looking at them, studying them and wondering who made them. These photos are the kind that inspires you, that captures your attention and transmits an emotion. The talented photographer is Richard Ramirez Jr. and I was even more surpiresed to find out that he is a young boy, but with a big passion for film photography.
Here is the little interview he kindly agreed to answer:

“1. First of all I would like to ask you a few personal things: where are you from, how old are you and when did you start taking photos?

I am 17 years old from Southern California. I started taking photographs on a road trip to Idaho when I was 14.

2. What camera are you using? And which type of photography do you prefer: film or digital? Why?

I am currently going back and forth between the Canon T70 and the Canon Ae-1 and I prefer film. There’s this magical quality about film. I really can’t grab what makes film so special but film photography carries a whole different mood than digital photography. I’m not saying digital photography isn’t great because it is special in its own way, but I really think I’ll be sticking with film for the rest of my life.

3. What do you think are the most important three rules about taking good film photographs?

Having great lighting is perhaps the only rule I really follow by. Right after the sunrise and just before the sunset are the greatest times for taking photographs. The lighting’s never too harsh and never too dull. It’s really perfect. As for the other two, I really don’t know what to say. I try not to think about the rules of photography because it dampens the enjoyment of photographing because you’re always thinking about how a certain photo should be taken. If what I see in the viewfinder looks great, I just take the photo.

4. What message do you want to transmit through your photography?

Escapism, maybe. It’s not really a message I want to share but more of a mood, a feeling.

5. I see that your photos are very creative, what inspires you? For example, what is the story behind “The Bird” photo shoot?

Thank you! For “The Bird” shoot I was venturing with a friend through the woods and she found a tree that had a really large nest wrapped around it. Then she started telling me these ideas on creating this bird shoot and after I got home, I started thinking on what to do with the shoot. It’s usually just sketching and listening to music and watching old films. I try to draw frame by frame on paper but it never really turns out that way because sometimes I get so wrapped up in the “photographing moment” that I forget about my intentional plans and just start taking photographs impulsively.

6. Who is your favorite photographer and who is your favorite photographer on Flickr? Why?

I would like to say Tim Walker but than again I always say Tim Walker but I’m getting really inspired lately by Bruce Davidson and William Eggleston and Fred Herzog. It’s strange because they don’t work with fashion and their photographs are the everydays of life but even though fashion photography is something I want to pursue, I still get really motivated and inspired by non-fashion photographs. If anything I want to learn how to mend the two together – the idea of fashion and their techniques.

7. Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

I really have no idea. Hopefully I’m finishing my last year of college and still creating and making art. Photography is all I ever want to do.

Here are some great photos he took:

A Pink Story A Pink Story by Richard Ramirez Jr

Untitled Untitled by Richard Ramirez Jr

Untitled Untitled by Richard Ramirez Jr

Untitled Untitled by Richard Ramirez Jr

Untitled Untitled by Richard Ramirez Jr

Untitled Untitled by Richard Ramirez Jr

Leave a Reply

